

KANSAS BOARD OF REGENTS

1000 SW JACKSON • SUITE 520 • TOPEKA, KS 66612-1368

TELEPHONE – 785-296-3421 FAX – 785-296-0983 www.kansasregents.org

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE July 31, 2007

STATE UNIVERSITIES TO ASSIST STUDENTS FROM COUNTIES HIT BY STORMS AND FLOODS

Universities to Waive Late Payment Charges for Affected Students

(TOPEKA) – In an effort to assist state university students from the 43 Kansas counties affected by natural disasters over the past few months, the Board of Regents announced today that the state's six universities will offer those students the option to defer tuition and fee payments which are normally due next month.

Under this option, the state's universities will waive late payment penalties and develop individual deferred payment plans for affected students. To qualify for the waiver and payment extension, students are encouraged to contact the following office at their university:

<u>University</u>	<u>Office</u>	<u>Phone</u>
Emporia State University	Student Financial Services	(620) 341-5340
Fort Hays State University	Student Fiscal Services	(785) 628-5251
Kansas State University	Student Financial Assistance	(785) 532-6420
Pittsburg State University	Cashiers & Student Accounts	(620) 235-4163
University of Kansas	University Bursar	(785) 864-3322
Wichita State University	Financial Operations	(316) 978-3070

"Students that have been affected by the recent natural disasters have had more immediate and pressing concerns than tuition due dates," said Christine Downey-Schmidt, Chair of the Board of Regents. "It's important that we do everything we can to ease the back-to-school transition for these students."

This assistance offer presently applies to residents in 20 flooded Southeast Kansas counties (Allen, Anderson, Bourbon, Butler, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Coffey, Cowley, Crawford, Elk, Franklin, Greenwood, Labette, Linn, Miami, Montgomery, Neosho, Osage, Wilson, and Woodson) and residents in 24 storm-damaged and flooded counties (Barton, Clay, Cloud, Comanche, Dickinson, Edwards, Ellsworth, Kiowa, Leavenworth, Lyon, McPherson, Osage, Osborne, Ottawa, Phillips, Pottawatomie, Pratt, Reno, Rice, Riley, Saline, Shawnee, Smith, and Stafford) who were declared eligible for individual federal assistance. This includes Greensburg, which was devastated by a tornado in May, and Coffeyville, which was flooded in June.

According to the Kansas Adjutant General's Department, more counties may ultimately be added to this list.

According to an April enrollment survey conducted by the Board of Regents, there were 21,004 students from the 43 storm and flood-affected counties who attended the state's six universities during the Fall 2006 academic semester.

--30--

For more information contact Kip Peterson, Director of Government Relations & Communications, at (785) 296-3421.

Visit the Kansas Board of Regents on the Web at www.kansasregents.org