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From 1915 to 2001, Kansas had an open admission policy which guaranteed admission to anyone who 
graduated from an accredited high school in Kansas.  In 1996, the Legislature passed K.S.A. 76-717, which 
established minimum admission standards for state universities.  Those became effective in 2001.  The 
statute requires the Board to annually submit to the Legislature information on undergraduate students 
admitted to state universities who did not meet minimum admission standards.   
 
Minimum Admission Criteria for 2020-2021 Freshman Applicants  
K.S.A.76-717 requires resident freshmen applicants under the age of 21 and non-resident freshman 
applicants to meet one of the following criteria in order to gain admittance to a state university:   

(1) graduate from an accredited high school and earn a minimum ACT score of 21; or 
(2) graduate from an accredited high school and rank in the top one-third of the class; or 
(3) graduate from a non-accredited private high school and earn a minimum ACT score of 21; or  
(4) earn a GED with the prescribed minimum scores (Kansas residents only).  

 
In addition to the above criteria, state regulations K.A.R 88-29a-5 and K.A.R. 88-29a-7 required all 
freshman applicants under the age of 21 to complete the precollege curriculum with a grade point average 
(GPA) of at least 2.0 for residents and 2.5 for non-residents.  (The precollege curriculum will no longer be 
required for applicants of the Summer 2021 semester and later.) 
 
Any applicant 21 and older must meet one of the following criteria in order to gain admittance to a state 
university as a freshman:  

(1) graduate from an accredited high school; or 
(2) graduate from a non-accredited private high school (Kansas residents only); or  
(3) earn a high school equivalency credential with the prescribed minimum scores.   

 
Exceptions to the Minimum Admission Standards  
K.S.A. 76-717 requires that on or before January 31 of each year, the Board submit a report that includes 
the following information on the number and percentage of resident freshman class admissions permitted 
as exceptions to the minimum admissions standards, disaggregated by institution (Table 1). State 
universities may, at their discretion, admit applicants who do not meet the minimum freshmen admissions 
criteria, provided that the number of resident freshmen admitted as exceptions is limited to 10 percent 
of the university’s total freshmen admitted. No institution exceeded the 10 percent limit.   
 

Table 1: Number of Resident Freshman Exceptions 2020-2021 

 Exceptions Admits Percent 

Emporia State University 123 1,376 8.9% 

Fort Hays State University 106 1,664 6.4% 

Kansas State University 418 6,413 6.5% 

Pittsburg State University 66 1,839 3.6% 

University of Kansas 487 14,398 3.4% 

Wichita State University 267 6,069 4.4% 

TOTAL 1,467 31,759 4.6% 
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Table 2 presents the number and percent of non-resident freshman students admitted as exceptions, 
disaggregated by institution.  By regulation, the number of non-resident freshman exceptions is limited 
to either 10 percent of the total number of admitted non-resident freshmen, or 50 students, whichever 
is greater.  Kansas State University exceeded the limit by 4.9%, or, by a total of 127 students.  Per K.A.R. 
88-29a-8c,  
 

(c) If the state educational institution exceeds the allotted number of admissions using this 
exception window, the excess over the allowable total number of exceptions shall be subtracted 
from the subsequent year’s allowable total number of exceptions for nonresident freshman class 
admissions. 

 
Consequently, for the 2021-2022 Academic Year, Kansas State University has 127 fewer allowable 
exceptions (calculated as 10% of the total number) in the non-resident freshman category.  (Please note 
that changes to Qualified Admissions were made to be effective beginning with the 2021-2022 Academic 
Year.  For this year and moving forward, for non-resident freshman applicants graduating from an 
accredited high school, Kansas State University requires either a 21 or higher on the ACT exam, or at least 
a 3.25 overall high school GPA.)  No other state university exceeded the limit of exceptions allowed in this 
category.  Though Emporia State University exceeded 10 percent, they admitted only 16 of 50 allowable 
exceptions, which is well within the limit. 
 
Each state university has a written policy to guide decisions about exceptions and per KBOR policy, every 
student admitted as an exception to the minimum qualified admission standards, resident or non-
resident, shall receive a written individual plan for student success from the university prior to enrollment.  
The individual plan for success shall be reviewed by the student and the student’s advisor at least once 
each semester in the first academic year immediately succeeding adoption of the plan. 

 
Table 2: Number of Non-Resident Freshman Exceptions 2020-2021 

 Exceptions Admits Percent 

Emporia State University 16 156 10.3% 

Fort Hays State University 18 327 5.5% 

Kansas State University 346 2,320 14.9% 

Pittsburg State University 39 758 5.1% 

University of Kansas 650 8,675 7.5% 

Wichita State University 122 2,471 4.9% 

TOTAL 1,191 14,707 8.1% 
          

Minimum Admission Criterion for 2020-2021 Transfer Applicants  
State universities are required to admit resident transfer applicants who have earned at least 24 credit 
hours of transferable coursework with a cumulative GPA of at least 2.0 on a 4.0 scale.  State universities 
may admit non-resident transfer applicants who have met this criterion, but they are not required to do 
so. State universities may adopt additional and/or more stringent standards to admit non-resident 
transfer applicants.  
  
 



 3  

Exceptions to the Minimum Admission Standards  
State universities may admit transfer applicants who have earned less than a 2.0 GPA on 24 or more 
transferable semester credit hours, but the number of these exceptions is limited by statute.  The number 
of resident transfer exceptions is limited to 10 percent of the university’s resident transfer admissions.  
The number of non-resident transfer exceptions is limited to 10 percent of the university’s non-resident 
transfer admissions.  Admitting applicants as exceptions is at the discretion of the state university and 
each student admitted by exception receives an individual success plan.   
 
K.S.A. 76-717 requires the Board to report the following to the Legislature on or before January 31 of each 
year: (1) the number and percent of resident transfer students admitted as exceptions, and (2) the number 
and percent of non-resident transfer students admitted as exceptions.  The statute specifies this 
information be disaggregated by institution.   
 
Table 3 presents the number and percent of transfer students admitted by each state university under 
the 10 percent exception window.  This information is disaggregated by institution and by residency 
status.  No institution exceeded the 10 percent limit.   
   

Table 3: Number of Transfer Students Admitted as Exceptions 2020-2021 
 Resident Transfer Non-Resident Transfer 

 Exceptions Admits Percent Exceptions Admits Percent 

Emporia State University 3 451 0.7% 0 38 0.0% 

Fort Hays State University 59 1,316 4.5% 68 869 7.8% 

Kansas State University 14 957 1.5% 4 510 0.8% 

Pittsburg State University 8 447 1.8% 5 275 1.8% 

University of Kansas 22 1,357 1.6% 16 706 2.3% 

Wichita State University 42 1,775 2.4% 10 394 2.5% 

TOTAL 148 6,303 2.3% 103 2,792 3.7% 
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